So proud of Hannah, my Australian friend, who is sharing how bullying affects her life.

May Your Candle Always Shine Bright
My Name is Hannah, I have major depression and I’m 19 years old, through getting diagnosed with this was due to being bullied all my entire schooling by students at school and on social media (Facebook, MSN, text messages, Prank Calls,) Some of the names i was getting called made me have low self esteem and i didn’t feel comfortable around a lot of people. When going through primary school i had hardly any friends so basically having no one to talk too and that impacted on me when it became recess and lunchtime i would prefer not to eat because i didn’t feel right and didn’t have anyone to sit with and have a chat like everyone else did. When being told to get up for school i use too not like it because of similar problems going on everyday and that students were pressuring me and calling me names and starting bullying me and when trying to tell teachers they wouldn’t listen they would take the other persons side of the story. When having no friends at primary school i use to hang around with my sister and get told of by the teachers for doing it. So ended up sitting by myself and felt uncomfortable and isolated and unsafe. When i started high school that was a different story i made some friends that actually cared about me. But then there were days new people moved to the school and made friends with them so i then got pushed away and ended up having no friends so i use to hang around my locker and stayed right next to it and had people laugh at me and made fun of me because i was standing around my locker and ended up having things thrown at me sticky tape around my lock people shaking them so all my books fell out when i opened it food wrapped around it even also glue and they use to push there friends into my locker and make fun of me when i use to do sport because i wasn’t the fittest girl in school and i use to feel really shy around people and then they would spread Rumors about me around the school and post them on Facebook and ended up being behind my back. These certain people Kept bullying me from year 7 to year 12 and would prank call me at home and at school and being at school i use to get in trouble for it. When i went to tell a teacher about this i would get all the blame for it and they would say ignore it and truthfully i didn’t work it kept happening so then i ended up going home every night to my family crying and depressed because i was getting bullied that much i was scared about going back to school the next day. So then i reached year 12 and a really close friend messaged me at night time and thought i rang her and said i wanted to commit suicide when i didn’t and she rang me during the night and i said to her i didn’t do it and ended up ringing the police on me because she thought i was in danger and i would never do that so then i woke my parents and told them so they rang i rang the police and asked them what was going on and they were going to come out and do a welfare check on me so before that happened my parents rang the police and said i was perfectly fine. By the end of getting bullied so much i had enough and ended up sitting down in my bedroom and writing a bullying speech about how i felt and read it out in front of my school which had 600 people and i was so scared doing it after that i had teachers crying and students coming up to me and saying sorry and what a good job i did.
I dont know what i would do without my family supporting me.
Hannah xx
Thank you Hannah very much for sharing this with us Courageous Angels Goal Team

2 responses to “So proud of Hannah, my Australian friend, who is sharing how bullying affects her life.

  1. Kudos to you Hannah! You took back control of your life and in the process taught an entire school a good lesson. We’re cheering for you!.

  2. Very inspiring. I’m glad it worked out for you in the end but I can only imagine the hell you went through before you wrote that speech.

Leave a Reply

